Skip to content
Find my tool

Comparison

ChatGPT vs Gemini for Indian Small Businesses (2026)

Last updated 30 October 2026

The two tools suit different kinds of work. ChatGPT is stronger when the job is writing and spreadsheets: proposals, product copy, a messy Excel file that needs explaining. Gemini is stronger when the work already lives in Gmail, Google Docs, Drive and an Android phone. For most Indian shop owners and founders the choice is not about which one is “smarter”. It is about where your work already sits, how many people need it, and whether you have changed one privacy setting. If you are also weighing Claude, read our ChatGPT vs Claude comparison.

The rupee figures, side by side

₹399 eachChatGPT Go / Google AI Plus ₹1,999 vs ₹1,950ChatGPT Plus / Google AI Pro about ₹490monthly gap at ten people
  • Already on Google Workspace? Current business plans include Gemini, so a personal Google AI plan on top means paying twice.
  • ChatGPT Go is the plan whose page warns it may include ads.
  • For a team, ChatGPT Business is US$20 a seat billed yearly, with a 2-seat minimum. One shared personal login is not a team plan.
  • Both may use your chats for training unless you switch it off: “Improve the model for everyone” in ChatGPT, Keep Activity in Gemini. Chats a human reviewer has seen can be kept for up to three years.
  • Video credits differ: 200 Flow credits on AI Plus against 1,000 on AI Pro.

Monthly prices seen 30 October 2026. Neither page says whether GST is included.

Disclosure: ScaleSaathi may earn a commission from some links on this site. There are no affiliate links in this comparison. Read our affiliate disclosure.

Our verdict: if your business runs on Gmail, Google Docs and an Android phone, start with Gemini: Google AI Plus is ₹399 a month on Google’s India page, and most current Google Workspace business plans include Gemini. If you write a lot, work in Excel or Word, or need a shared team account with admin control, choose ChatGPT: Plus is ₹1,999 a month as listed for India, Go is ₹399, and Business starts at two users. Not sure? Try the free versions of both for a week on your real work.

The short answer

You live in Gmail and Google Docs

Gemini. Google AI Pro (₹1,950 a month) puts Gemini inside Gmail and Docs, and AI Plus (₹399) adds it to Gmail. Most current Workspace business plans include Gemini too; check yours.

You write a lot: listings, ads, emails, proposals

ChatGPT. In everyday use its writing tends to be easier to steer, Projects keep each client’s material together, and custom GPTs let you save a house style.

You need a team account with admin control

ChatGPT Business (US$20 a seat a month on annual billing, two seats minimum) or Google Workspace. Google AI personal plans are not built for teams.

You make reels, product images or short videos

Gemini. Every paid Google AI plan includes video generation and Flow credits, from 200 on AI Plus to 1,000 on AI Pro.

What each plan costs

In India, OpenAI lists ChatGPT Go at ₹399 a month, Plus at ₹1,999 and Pro from ₹10,699 (₹19,900 and ₹52,900 for the bigger Pro tiers on the App Store), and supports rupee billing with UPI for Go and Plus but not for Pro or Business, so Pro needs a card (OpenAI Help Center: multi-currency billing; App Store India listing, seen 30 October 2026). ChatGPT Business is listed at US$20 a seat a month billed yearly or US$25 billed monthly (seen 29 October 2026); check the rupee price and GST at checkout. Google’s India page lists rupee prices. Neither OpenAI nor Google says on its pricing page whether GST is included.

Item ChatGPT (India list prices) Gemini (Google India page, ₹)
Free plan ChatGPT Free, $0: limited messages, uploads, images and deep research Gemini Free, ₹0: image generation, Deep Research, Gemini Live, Gems, 15 GB storage
Cheapest paid plan Go, ₹399 a month. OpenAI says this plan may include ads. Google AI Plus, ₹399 a month: 2x the free usage, video generation, 200 Flow credits, Gemini in Gmail and Vids, 400 GB storage
Main paid plan Plus, ₹1,999 a month: reasoning models, Projects, scheduled tasks, custom GPTs, Codex Google AI Pro, ₹1,950 a month: 4x the free usage, top models, 1,000 Flow credits, Gemini in Gmail and Docs, YouTube Premium Lite, 5 TB storage
Top individual plan Pro, from ₹10,699 a month Google AI Ultra, from ₹6,500 (5x Pro usage) or ₹19,500 (20x) a month, storage from 20 TB
Team plan Business, 2 to 200 users: US$20 a seat a month billed yearly, US$25 billed monthly (US$ as shown on ChatGPT’s pricing page; check the rupee price at checkout) Most current Google Workspace business plans include Gemini; Google AI plans are personal
Usage limits Worded as Limited, Expanded or Unlimited; no message counts published Limits refresh every five hours up to a weekly limit; no message counts published
Tax shown on the page Not stated Not stated
Prices seen 30 October 2026 on the OpenAI Help Center and the App Store India listing; Business in US$ from ChatGPT’s pricing page, seen 29 October 2026. Gemini from Google’s India page. GST not stated by either.
Gemini India plan cards: Free ₹0, Google AI Plus ₹399, Google AI Pro ₹1,950 and Google AI Ultra from ₹6,500 INR a month
Gemini subscription prices in India, seen 30 October 2026. Source: Google’s Gemini plans page for India.

At the entry level it is a tie: ChatGPT Go and Google AI Plus are both ₹399 a month, so either is cheap to test for one month. Go is the only plan here whose page warns about ads, which most businesses will not want on a work account. If anyone in the family is a student, look at Google’s student offer first: eligible students get AI Plus free for a year if they redeem by 31 December 2026, after which it renews at ₹399 a month unless cancelled (seen 30 October 2026).

Cost for 1, 3 and 10 people

This is what a business would pay at the listed monthly prices, and in a year at 12 times that. Neither company says whether GST is included, so treat these as list prices. ChatGPT Business is shown in US dollars because OpenAI publishes no rupee price for it, and it needs at least two seats, so one person pays for two.

People ChatGPT Plus (month / year) ChatGPT Business, annual billing (US$, month / year) Google AI Plus (month / year) Google AI Pro (month / year)
1 ₹1,999 / ₹23,988 US$40 / US$480 ₹399 / ₹4,788 ₹1,950 / ₹23,400
3 ₹5,997 / ₹71,964 US$60 / US$720 ₹1,197 / ₹14,364 ₹5,850 / ₹70,200
10 ₹19,990 / ₹2,39,880 US$200 / US$2,400 ₹3,990 / ₹47,880 ₹19,500 / ₹2,34,000
Listed India prices, seen 30 October 2026 (Business 29 October 2026); tax treatment not stated by either company. Business in US$ as shown on ChatGPT’s pricing page. Google AI plans and ChatGPT Plus are personal; the 3 and 10 rows assume one plan per person.
Bar chart of yearly cost in rupees for 1, 3 and 10 people on ChatGPT Go, Google AI Plus, ChatGPT Plus and Google AI Pro, with ChatGPT and Gemini logos, at October 2026 list prices
Yearly cost by team size at listed India prices; tax treatment not stated.

At ten people, ChatGPT Plus and Google AI Pro are only about ₹490 a month apart, so price should not decide it. What does is admin: with ChatGPT Business or Workspace you can add and remove people, and their work stays with the company when they leave.

Enter the number of people and the prices you see at checkout, and the sheet shows the monthly, yearly and three-year cost of each plan. For more AI tools in one place, use our AI subscription cost calculator, or see ChatGPT, Gemini and Claude prices in India.

Usage limits, long files and the extras

Limits. Google’s India page says paid Gemini limits refresh every five hours, up to a weekly limit; AI Plus gives about twice the free usage, AI Pro about four times, and Ultra five or twenty times Pro. OpenAI publishes no message counts; its plans are described as limited, expanded or unlimited, so you only find the ceiling by using it. If one person will use it all day, run your heaviest real task on a weekday afternoon during the first week, while you can still cancel.

Long documents. Google lists long context as a Gemini feature, and in practice it copes better with a whole tender, a year of bank statements or a 300-page contract in one upload. With either tool, ask for page references and check the figures it quotes; both still invent numbers when a file is long.

Your own documents as the source. Google’s notebook tool, now called Gemini Notebook, answers only from the files you upload. Load your price list, return policy and past proposals, and staff can ask it questions without it making things up from the web. It is on the free plan; paid plans add more notebooks and audio overviews. ChatGPT’s nearest match is Projects on Plus.

Deep Research. Both build a cited report in a few minutes, useful for supplier or competitor checks. Open every link before you act on it.

Storage. Gemini plans double as Google storage: 400 GB on AI Plus, 5 TB on AI Pro. If you already pay for Google One storage, the AI plan can replace it, which narrows the real price gap. ChatGPT includes no storage.

If your business runs on Gmail and Docs

This is Gemini’s strongest case. Google’s India page lists Gemini in Gmail on AI Plus, and in Gmail and Docs on AI Pro. In practice that means drafting a reply inside the email thread, summarising a long supplier chain, or turning rough notes into a Doc without copying anything across. ChatGPT can read a file you upload, but it sits beside your work, not inside it.

If you already pay for Google Workspace for your business email, check your plan on Google’s Workspace pricing page first. Most current Workspace business plans include Gemini. On the India page (seen 30 October 2026) Business Starter is ₹270 a user a month with Gemini in Gmail and 30 GB, and Business Standard is ₹1,080 (₹864 introductory, up to 20 users) with Gemini in Gmail, Docs and Meet and 2 TB. For a team on Standard, that is less than an AI Pro plan per person, with admin control included. You may already have it, with business privacy terms, and buying a personal Google AI plan on top would be paying twice.

The catch: Google AI plans attach to a personal Google Account. If you have staff, give them Workspace accounts rather than sharing your login.

Job by job: where each one is stronger

  • Writing (product listings, ad copy, emails, proposals): ChatGPT. In everyday use it tends to be easier to steer on tone and length, and custom GPTs let you save instructions such as “always write in simple English for Tier-2 buyers”.
  • Excel, Word and PowerPoint: ChatGPT. Its pricing page lists extensions for Excel, Word, PowerPoint and Google Sheets, with expanded use on Plus. See ChatGPT for Excel for GST and stock-sheet examples.
  • Research: a draw. Both have Deep Research on the free plan. Open the sources they cite. If research is most of your AI time, read our Perplexity vs ChatGPT comparison.
  • Images and video: Gemini, mainly for video. Paid Google AI plans include video generation and Flow credits. ChatGPT makes good product images, but video is not its strength for a small seller.
  • On the phone: Gemini, if you use Android. It is the default assistant on many Android phones, and many users find its voice mode the more natural of the two.
  • Indian languages: both officially support Hindi and major Indian languages. Use either for drafts, not for final customer text without a check.

Privacy: the setting most owners never change

On personal plans, both companies can use your chats to improve their models unless you switch it off. In ChatGPT, go to Settings, Data Controls, and turn off “Improve the model for everyone” (OpenAI’s help page). In Gemini, turn off Keep Activity; Google’s Gemini privacy hub says human reviewers may read some chats and asks you not to enter confidential information. Reviewed chats are kept for up to three years; chats you have with Keep Activity off are kept for 72 hours.

The business versions are different. OpenAI says it does not train on ChatGPT Business data by default (business data page), and Google says Workspace content is not human-reviewed or used to train models outside your domain without permission (Workspace privacy hub). If you handle client financials, Aadhaar or PAN details, or anything under an NDA, use a business plan or remove the identifying details first.

Four businesses, four choices

A kirana-to-online seller, one person, Gmail on the phone

Google AI Plus at ₹399. It covers product descriptions, replies to buyers in Gmail, Hindi drafts and short videos for reels.

A three-person digital agency writing for clients

ChatGPT Business. Three seats on annual billing come to US$60 a month before tax, a little more than three Plus accounts at ₹5,997, but the company owns the workspace, client chats are not used for training by default, and you can share custom GPTs for each client’s style.

A 10-person trading firm already on Google Workspace

Check which Gemini features your Workspace plan already includes before buying anything. If one or two people need ChatGPT for heavy Excel work, buy those seats only.

A CA or consultant handling client financials

Privacy first. Either ChatGPT Business or Gemini on Workspace, never a personal plan with training left on. ChatGPT’s Excel tools usually tip it. Our guide on AI for accountants in India has workflows.

Common mistakes owners make

  • Paying for both on day one. Use the free plans for a week on your real work, then pay for one.
  • Sharing one personal login with staff. You lose control when someone leaves, and everyone’s chats mix.
  • Leaving training on and pasting client data. It takes one minute to change.
  • Buying Google AI Pro while already paying for Workspace with Gemini included.
  • Paying without a GST invoice. Before you pay, check whether checkout asks for your GSTIN and whether the invoice shows GST, or you lose the input credit.
  • Trusting GST rates, HSN codes or legal deadlines from either tool without checking the official source.
  • Writing vague prompts. Our AI business prompt generator gives you a structure to start from.

Verdict

  • Gmail, Docs and Android at the centre of your business: Gemini. Start with AI Plus at ₹399, or use the Gemini in your Workspace plan.
  • Heavy writing, Excel, Word or custom assistants: ChatGPT Plus.
  • A team of two or more: ChatGPT Business, or Gemini through Workspace if you are already on it.
  • Video and reels: Gemini.
  • Tight budget: the free plans of both, then one ₹399 plan (ChatGPT Go or Google AI Plus) for a month.

Frequently asked questions

Is Gemini cheaper than ChatGPT in India?

At the entry level they cost the same: ChatGPT Go and Google AI Plus are both ₹399 a month as listed in India (seen 30 October 2026). ChatGPT Plus is ₹1,999 and Google AI Pro ₹1,950. Neither company’s pricing page says whether GST is included, so compare your checkout total or first invoice.

Can my team share one Gemini or ChatGPT subscription?

Not properly. Google AI plans are for personal Google Accounts, and ChatGPT Plus is a single-user plan. For a team, use ChatGPT Business (2 to 200 users) or Google Workspace, which includes Gemini on its business plans. Sharing one login mixes everyone’s chats and leaves you with no admin control when someone leaves.

I already pay for Google Workspace. Do I need Gemini separately?

Usually not. Google’s Workspace pricing page lists Gemini on its business plans, and Google’s Workspace privacy hub says your content is not used to train models outside your domain without permission. Check which Gemini features your plan includes on the Workspace pricing page before buying a personal Google AI plan as well.

Does ChatGPT or Gemini use my business chats for training?

On personal plans, both can, unless you change a setting. In ChatGPT, turn off “Improve the model for everyone” under Data Controls. In Gemini, turn off Keep Activity; Google also says human reviewers may read some chats, so do not paste confidential data. OpenAI says it does not train on ChatGPT Business data by default, and Google says Workspace content is not used to train its models outside your organisation, or reviewed by humans, without permission.

Which is better for Hindi and other Indian languages?

Both list Hindi and other major Indian languages, such as Bengali, Gujarati and Kannada, as supported. In everyday use, both tend to handle simple Hindi and Hinglish well, and many users find Gemini’s voice mode more natural on an Android phone. For customer-facing text in any regional language, have a native speaker check it before you send it.

Can ChatGPT or Gemini reply to customers on WhatsApp for me?

Not from a normal subscription. Neither subscription includes a WhatsApp Business integration. For automatic replies you need the WhatsApp Business Platform through a provider, connected to an AI model. Our guide to WhatsApp AI chatbots in India explains the options and costs.

Can I pay for ChatGPT with UPI?

Yes for Go and Plus, according to OpenAI’s billing help page (seen 30 October 2026). Pro and Business need a card. Billing is in rupees, but check the first statement in case your bank treats it as an international transaction.

Keep reading

Sources

Product names are trademarks of their respective owners. They are shown only to identify the products compared.